Navel Idea

by

Hello internet world. I have a secret to share: sometimes I have a smelly bellybutton. It’s just so deep and full of stench collecting crevices. I never paid too much attention to it and thought that it might be kind of normal. Then I got married. Apparently it’s not normal. (To be fair, I don’t think the amount of lint Eric’s navel collects is normal. It’s like the lint trap on a dryer, really!)

A pregnant tummy is a fascinating and highly dynamic thing. And that, of course, includes the navel. I haven’t developed an “outie”, but my deep well of an “innie” has gotten a little shallower.

Today Eric said, “If you get an outie, maybe we can tie a string to it and tie the other end to a door knob. And then, after the baby is born if it tries to go back in we’ll slam the door. And then it will heal over and you won’t have an innie anymore.”

I guess it could work. Makes me worry just a little bit for Little Cap when it comes time to lose his baby teeth.

This post is weird enough, I’m not going to upload a picture of my navel. But I will give you the view from Bed Rest Central this morning, it’s a nice one! Here’s a dashing and very sharply dressed third grade teacher about to leave for work:

img_0804

(Report card pick-up was the special event to warrant such three-piece-suit extravagance. Apparently room 219 had a good showing with 16/20 families reporting, and there were three straight A students!)

~Elizabeth

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Navel Idea”

  1. ya-ya brooke Says:

    is it Eric’s hair that looks lopsided or has his head just been devloping along with LC? Can’t wait to see you guys next week. I think I call you soon.

  2. Katina Says:

    Lizzy – TMI about the navel.

    That’s all I really have to say, but I suppose that’s what the internet is for. Love you.

  3. vagueperson Says:

    Hair still wet on one side – or did I forget a traumatic head injury?

    Everyone wants to know about stinky bellybuttons, Kastinka… except you, I guess.

Leave a Reply

