32 Weeks and Privileges!

by

Tuesday marked 32 weeks! Hooray!

img_0955

On Monday we had a doctor’s appointment and the very good news is that there were no further cervical changes. Little Cap’s heart was sounding good, however my tummy measured the same (29cm) as it did at our previous check. We have an ultrasound scheduled for Wednesday the 13th to see the size of our Little Cap. Hopefully he’s done his growing work and it just doesn’t show from the outside, he certainly feels bigger!

The other good news is that the doctor relaxed the bed rest regime and said I can be upright for 2-3 hours each day. Wow! Since the doctor’s visit involved a fair amount of walking and sitting up I stayed down for the rest of the day on Monday. But on Tuesday I tried out my new lifestyle.

My first order of business was to return the kitchen to my level of cleanliness. And boy oh boy did it feel good to wipe down those counters! At first I set the kitchen timer for 30 minutes and got to work (very gingerly, of course). Five minutes in and my back got pretty achy. Fifteen minutes in and… I was back on the couch. Ouch. Apparently if you grow a great big baby filled tummy while lying down your back muscles have some catching up to do. I did give it another go and wound up spending two hours up in little spurts of 15 or 30 minutes.

This morning (Wednesday) brought a bit of a scare and more Braxton-Hicks contractions than usual so I have stayed down for all but seven minutes and the usual bathroom visits. I might just try a little bit of the vertical life before bedtime, we’ll see…

Today my pal, Lexi, biked down from the Northside and paid a glorious visit to Bed Rest Central. Despite not having an in-person visit for two years we picked right back up where we left off and it was wonderful.

Even more good news today is that “my” tree outside the window has come into full bloom! The blossoms inspired the theme of our “32”.

Tomorrow’s upright hours have already been scheduled as we are off to childbirth class in the evening. We’ll keep you posted.

~Elizabeth

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

