Mother Lode of Cuteness

by

During the first couple of days of my new found freedom I spent my few moments of up-time around the house. I figured it would remain this way for awhile since Bed Rest makes me super eager to get things done (mostly an urge to clean). Apparently it was short lived. There are baby preparation things to do that are, in fact, more fun than cleaning.

We already had the crib and car seat taken care of before bed rest hit. And the crib even came with one (somewhat girly) crib sheet. Clearly more sheets are necessary since we expect explosive infant poo. I’ve yet to have a child, but I have had a diaper explode on me. Therefore, it has to be common.

I decided that crib sheets, sleepers and onesies were more necessary than cleaning today and we went shopping for up time. It was off to “The Village“. It seems a little weird to buy new when the items will be met with exploding poo.

We didn’t have much luck with the crib sheets. We got a cotton green one that’s in good shape with elastic that goes all the way around.

In the onesie and sleeper department… we did quite well.

IMG_0962

No boring white onesies for Mr. Little Cap. This baby will be styling.

IMG_0963

My favorite item is this camping themed onesie:

IMG_0967

And I think the Papous and Uncle Mikey will be especially fond of this onesie that depicts frogs playing golf:

IMG_0968

Eric ventured into larger sizes and found a couple long sleeved onesies that he couldn’t leave without:

IMG_0969

IMG_0970

Perhaps we would have limited our cuteness intake, but things were in great shape… and there was a Mother’s Day sale. Everything was half-off, sweeeet.

Stats for the stash:
(All are 100% cotton. Speaking of, what happened to all children’s sleepwear having to be flame-retardant? I’m going to have to look that up.)
Short Sleeved Onesies
0-3 months:
blue with trucks, cars and taxis – Carters
blue with embroidered scooters – Gerber
blue, khaki and brown stripes – The Children’s Place
dark green with camping theme – Gymboree
blue, green, yellow and red stripes – Circo
green with embroidered car and scooter – Gerber
light green with golfing frogs – Gymboree
6-9 months:
blue and white stripes – Gerber
white with blue and green stars – Gerber
(Apparently Gerber runs small. The 6-9 month Gerber onesies look the same size as the non-Gerber 0-3 month onesies. The 0-3 month Gerber ones are minuscule. I’d be one happy Mama if they never fit.)
Long Sleeved Onesies
Preemie:
green with bumblebees, leaves and mushrooms – McBaby
(Despite the tag it’s not super tiny. That’s not to say I want it to fit, just that it probably will. And yes, McDonald’s appears to make baby clothes. I wouldn’t usually condone such a pairing with my purchase, but it’s got mushrooms!)
3-6 months:
primary color stripes – Carters
yellow and blue stripes – The Children’s Place
6-9 months:
cream colored thermal henley – no tag (size is a guess)
olive green stripes – Wonder Kids
Sleepers
3-6 months:
jungle theme – Gerber
khaki, blue and red stripes – Carters
Sleep Sacks/Gowns
0-3 or 0-6 months:
green, yellow and blue stripes – Circo
yellow with bunnies, chicks, trees and cottages – Gerber
primary colored polka dots and emergency vehicles – Gerber
cars and palm trees – Circo
blue with baby stuff – Miniwear
blue with a star – Carters
(Are sleep sacks/gowns useful? I was quite taken with the fact that they have nifty turn-overs on the cuffs that work like baby mitts. No scratching opportunities and no possibility of choking on mitts – neat! While they look more difficult to put on, the open elastic bottom sure looks nice for middle-of-the-night diaper changes. I guess we’ll find out.)
The Receipt:
$17.42
(Including the crib sheet. And a non-fiction baseball book and four Choose Your Own Adventure books for room 219.)  It comes out to precisely $0.70 per item.  We probably would have spent more on gas had we garnered an equal amount through Freecycle.

That’s a lot of cuteness.

~Elizabeth

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Mother Lode of Cuteness”

  1. Heidi Says:

    That is amazing how much stuff you got for so cheap!! Little Cap will be well dressed:) By the way, sleeper gowns=awesome! I was hesitant when my mom first gave me one for S, but they are incredibly easy in the night when you have to change them (and you will). You’ll love them! Glad you hear you’re up and around!

  2. ya ya brooke Says:

    So, now lets talk! WHAT IS THE MAJOR ELEMENT YOU WILL STILL NEED? IT SEEMS YOU HAVE THE NEONATE CLOTHING FURNISHED AND FOR A GREAT PRICE. I’M STILL OPEN TO THE DIAPER SERVICE OR FOR FURNISHING THE STYLE OF DIAPERS YOU WANT. I KNOW YOU WILL ALSO NEED A TRAVEL CRIB THAT FOLDS UP. I HAVE A BLANK PHOTO SPACE ALL SAVED FOR OUR 1ST BABY PIC. I WILL SEND ERIC’S BABY QUILT, TOO.
    I am spelling my ya ya wrong, huh?

  3. YiaYia Margie Says:

    I’m going to remember to hit the thrift stores on Mother’s Day. That was an amazing shopping extravaganza! Just one memory about the sleeper gowns. I remember the Broady girls wearing those gowns until their little feet were walking. They were extremely handy when this Mama had just nursed the Baby and was half asleep. Way to go with your thriftyness and fashion sense. Can’t wait to see you one Thursday.

  4. precisewoman Says:

    Heidi and Mama, I’m glad to hear the gowns are a good idea. The store seemed full of them (some obviously never worn) and the sleeper selection was much more sparse. Perhaps others receive them, but find them too strange to try?
    Brooke, we’ll email soon!

  5. Erika Says:

    I totally agree with above comments about sleeper gowns…I thought they were weird, but SO handy for quick diaper changes. Also, when Siri was brand new, she didn’t unfurl her legs enough to fit in the legs of the sleepers, so gowns were just more comfy. Your thriftiness is awesome and well-thought-out. I can guarantee exploding baby poo. :)

Leave a Reply

