White Guys

by

Things have been happening at the Saathoff household, and you haven’t been informed!

Let’s go back.  A few weeks ago, Basil made his first out-of-womb visit to US Steel Yard in Gary, IN, to see our cherished Gary Southshore Railcats.  We left while ahead in the 8th inning, but unfortunately the Fargo Redhawks came from behind in the 9th to win the game after we left.  The Railcats finished the season with the best record, but the Redhawks beat them again to win the playoff championship.

IMG_1957 IMG_1961

IMG_1965 IMG_1970

IMG_1972

Lizzy found a more secluded spot for breastfeeding.  The game was NOT this sparsely attended.

Basil also visited the pediatrician, our dear Dr. Osta.  There, she informed us that our then-10 week old weighed 12lbs 10oz and had achieved something between the 50th and 75th percentile (for weight).  We will do everything to push him to 100th!  Lizzy says, instead, we will do everything we can to keep him average.  I guess a normal baby has an easier time than a super jumbo or a skinny minny.  Average ho!

IMG_1986

He also loves getting visits from Claire, who is newly chrismated.

IMG_2030

Yesterday I made my first visit to my new doctor at UIC, Dr. Potter.  I am already impressed and pleased to have made the switch from Dr. Grant in Oak Park.  He was very knowledgeable about things from the top of his head without typing things up on his iphone in front of me (as Dr. Grant had done).  As far as the Lupus Anticoagulant, he said he would find someone with more knowledge in the university to help us think about how long I should be on the blood thinner Warfarin.  It appears that my condition is a bit rarer and more confusing to doctors than I knew.  Lizzy’s previous doctor told her one never wants to be “medically interesting” to a doctor, but I think I fit that bill with Dr. Potter.

In another aspect of the visit, I discussed with him some white patches I discovered on my hands during our trip to Washington, D.C.

IMG_1901 IMG_1900

IMG_1895 (this last picture is my elbow)

I’ve been asking people lately if they’ve been wondering – “what else does Eric have in common with Michael Jackson?”

Well, I didn’t have to suggest anything with Dr. Potter.  He was the one who said it looked like vitiligo.  After my flu shot, he did a little biopsy on the white spot on my elbow so they can check the skin for melanin.  I’m turning white!  Oh wait…

It turns out that the affected skin looks about the same color as my shirtless top.  Oh well.  It’s really hard on guys like this.

Here’s another white guy striking some poses:

IMG_2034 IMG_2035

IMG_2036 IMG_2037

IMG_2038

~Eric

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “White Guys”

  1. Erika Says:

    My goodness, you guys made an adorable baby. He’s getting cuter by the day!! Can’t wait to meet him…maybe we can arrange a holiday-themed playdate? Siri is getting very good at grabbing hair and noses. Should make for a good time.

  2. Katina Says:

    Oh man! Basil is looking adorable and styling in his overalls and his cool hat!

  3. yia-yia brooke Says:

    That last pic just made me laugh & laugh!! He is sooooo darling!! I am confused about the lupus term. What do you mean by that? What is your dr confused about?

  4. Heidi Says:

    Your little guy is getting SO big! Hope you all are doing well:) Btw, one of my friends started getting white patches on her skin and it turned out to be hypothyroidism. Wasn’t sure if you’ve been tested for thyroid stuff…

  5. Uncle Mikey! Says:

    Oh man! I love that little dude. . .
    rough ending for the railcats rockin’ season though. . .
    and yeah. . .that last picture is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

