Snowed In

by

We knew this would be coming.  The good part is that it’s a weekend, so not a lot of people have to be out on the roads.  The bad part is that it’s a weekend, so school will not be canceled (only an assumption based on all the other cancellations that have occurred).

The latest news says St. Paul got 13 inches, but that was over three hours ago, and it hasn’t stopped snowing.  Needless to say, we’ve been inside almost all day.

Basil and I did some extended napping/sleeping-in on the futon to start the day.

It’s been a long time since he would nap in that position…

Elizabeth did some shoveling outside because she wanted to do her share of the work.  All the paths she cleared have now been recovered, but when my turn comes the job will be half as much as it could have been.

While she was outside, Basil and I suited up so that we could meet her and investigate how much snow there really was.

Elizabeth and I had a lot of fun just jumping into knee-deep snow, but, for obvious reasons, it wasn’t quite as fun for Basil.

We were happy to get inside, and I was happy that we had just days before purchased some snow pants from the thrift store.  Elizabeth says they make me look Minnesotan.

We had planned to go grocery shopping today since we were out of meals, but that idea was now a nonstarter.  I soon realized that on a cold day without food on hand there was really only one thing to do: bake.

I previously blogged about my baking books by Peter Reinhart.  I put those aside because most of his breads require a 2-day process.  We needed bread for lunch!  I neglected other bread books I could have consulted and went straight to the Internet.

I settled upon these three recipes:
Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread
German Stollen
Vanilla Cupcakes

I don’t necessarily recommend any of them for serious bread adventures, but they sure did the trick so far for this snowy, cold day.  The oatmeal bread ended up looking like a mushroom!  I’m not used to working with baking powder or baking soda.

We’ll see how high the snow gets and whether we’ll make it to the grocery store tomorrow or not.  If not, I’m sure glad we’ve got so much flour in the house!

~Eric

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Snowed In”

  1. Basil's Fans in SF Says:

    Glad to see that you guys are surviving the massive snowfall. Can’t wait to see you soon!!

  2. Yia Yia Brooke Says:

    Love the aqua snowpants…so stylish!
    The pics reminded me of those snowy days in Penn. I remember how a snuggly, cozy, sleepy child gave me such joy!

  3. Basil's Fans in SF Says:

    We miss you guys. More pictures soon, please?

Leave a Reply

